Rhody Gem: Farm and Flora Collective

April 2021

Posted

What it is:

Actually three small women-owned green industry businesses under one roof, the collective houses their studio, growing hub, and retail shop selling flowers and gifts.

 

Where to find it:

Taking up residence in the former Maher Garden Center, watch for their green sign out front along Aquidneck Avenue.

 

What makes it a Rhody Gem?

Fans of The Flower Recipe Book and The Wreath Recipe Book will delight in knowing co-author Jill Rizzo is part of Little State Flower Company and often behind the counter, should you want your book signed. LSFC is part of this cohort that also includes Wild Season Florals and Brigid Finn Fine Gardening. “Our retail shop offers customers an opportunity to engage with flowers and plants in a way that is educational, inspiring, and grounded in environmental principles,” explains Victoria Canel of Wild Season Florals, who notes that the collective also partners with the James L. Maher Center to provide training opportunities for people with developmental disabilities. Inside, pastel walls backdrop shelves of miniature potted plants, bouquets of stems from their in-house growing center, and, this season, delicate eggs strewn among daffodil terrariums and ceramic bowls. For floral services with a distinctly local touch, you can’t get closer to the source than this trio of nature enthusiasts vetting flowers from seed to bouquet.

Farm and Flora Collective910 Aquidneck Avenue, Middletown • 401-846-7911 • @farmandfloracollective

Comments

No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here